Academic Advising

Academic Advising

Check out our list of advisors, see their drop-in hours and what they can help you with.

College of Science Office of Student Services

Student Services Office
Bartlett Academic Success Center (BASC) Room 417
Due to the New Student Orientation schedule in June and advisor vacations in July, drop ins for Science advising in the BASC are on hold. Please contact your department advisor below for assistance or email science@arizona.edu.

Drop ins for general Science will resume in August.
(520) 621-8128
science@arizona.edu

Our advisors can assist with the following topics:

  • General Petitions 
  • Late Change Petitions and Change of Schedule Requests
  • Academic Renewal 
  • Questions regarding academic eligibility
  • Questions about Leave of Absence/Back 2 UA
  • Readmission & Second Start questions
  • Extension of Incomplete Grade (if beyond one year)
  • General questions and referrals to campus resources  
  • Degree Audit Worksheets for MATH and HAS majors

Drop-in Hours and Advisors

For academic advising related to your major, please contact the advisor from the table below. Appointments with advisors are being held virtually through email, phone, and Zoom. Be sure to check your advisor's Trellis for details on availability

If you need assistance and cannot reach your Academic Advisor, please email Raini Wijeweera: raini@email.arizona.edu. Raini will respond within 24 business hours.

Contact us

Robin Rarick, Senior Director, Academic Advising

(520) 621-8128; rrarick@email.arizona.edu

Tharini Wijeweera, Assistant Director, Academic Advising

(520) 621-8128; raini@email.arizona.edu

Advisor Directory

Major Advisor Phone Office Email
Applied Physics        
  David Smith
(Professional Advisor)
626-1231 Phys/Atmo Sci, Room 264 dlsmith1@arizona.edu
Astronomy        
  David Smith (Professional Advisor)

626-1231

Phys/Atmo Sci, Room 264

dlsmith1@arizona.edu
  View list of Faculty Advisors      
Bioinformatics AND Biology 
AND Ecology & Evolutionary Biology
       
Main Campus
(Last Names A-G)
Ursula Basinger-Walholm 621-5329 Life Sci. South, Room 229 basinger@arizona.edu
Main Campus
(Last Names H-O)
David McGuiggan 621-5329 Life Sci. South, Room 233 dmcguigg@arizona.edu
Main Campus (Last Names P-Z) Kendra Salkowski 621-6493 Bio Science West, Room 310 brownkz@arizona.edu
AZ Online Only Stephanie Maxwell 621-1588 Bio Science West, Room 310 samaxwel@arizona.edu
Chemistry & Biochemistry        
  Debra Armand-Cade 626-0605 Biological Sciences West, Room 430

darmandcade@arizona.edu

  Carleen De Armon 626-7908 Biological Sciences West, Room 432 carleen@arizona.edu
Computer Science        
Last names A-E Samantha Morrow 621-2594 Gould-Simpson, Room 917 sam.morrow@cs.arizona.edu
Last names F-L Matthew Emory 621-0483 Gould-Simpson, Room 917

mdemory@cs.arizona.edu

Last names M-Q Christina Beasley 621-3926 Gould-Simpson, Room 917 cbeasley@cs.arizona.edu
Last names R-Z Valeria Martinez 621-4632 Gould-Simpson, Room 917 vmartinez@cs.arizona.edu
Geoscience        
  Hilda Aboytia 621-4845 Gould-Simpson, Room 210A haboytia@arizona.edu
Hydrology & Atmospheric Science        
Hydrology sub-plan Martha Whitaker 621-9715 J.W. Harshbarger, Room 226A marthaw@arizona.edu
Atmospheric Science sub-plan Brittany Ciancarelli 621-6619 J.W. Harshbarger, Room 224E bciance@arizona.edu
Mathematics        
Majors and minors only
(not for placement)
Laurie Varecka 626-9837 Mathematics, Room 217 mcenter@arizona.edu
Majors and minors only
(not for placement)
Michelle Ort 621-5106 Mathematics, Room 221 mcenter@math.arizona.edu
Statistics & Data Science        
  Laurie Varecka 626-9837 Mathematics, Room 217 mcenter@arizona.edu
  Michelle Ort 621-5106 Mathematics, Room 221 mcenter@math.arizona.edu
Molecular & Cellular Biology        
  Kara Dyson 621-1073 Life Sci. South, Room 248 kdyson@arizona.edu
  Justin Schneider 621-4342 Life Sci. South, Room 248 jmschnei@arizona.edu
Neuroscience & Cognitive Science        
Online and Main Campus (Last names A-K)  Jacquelyn Gonzalez 621-3337 Gould-Simpson, Room 626 jacquelyng0615@arizona.edu
Online and Main Campus (Last names L-Z) Collin Stout 621-0384 Gould-Simpson, Room 628 collinstout@arizona.edu
No Major Selected or Undecided in Science Raini Wijeweera 621-8128 Gould-Simpson, Room 1017 raini@arizona.edu
Physics David Smith (Professional Advisor) 626-1231 Phys/Atmo Sci, Room 264 dlsmith1@arizona.edu
Psychology AND Psychological Science        
AZ ONLINE ONLY
(Last names A-F)
Melanie Lipton 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 melanielipton@arizona.edu
AZ ONLINE ONLY
(Last names G-Z)
Jamie Ellsworth 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 jellsworth@arizona.edu

Main Campus

Pre-Psychological Science and Psychological Science Majors only

Randy Yazzie 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 yazzier@arizona.edu
Main Campus
(Last names A-M)
Rani Metz 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 rmetz@arizona.edu
Main Campus
(Last names N-Z)
Alan Truong 621-7439 Psychology, Room 312 atruong@arizona.edu
Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences Raini Wijeweera (Interim) 621-8444 Gould-Simpson, Room 1017 science@arizona.edu