Galileo Circle Fellows

College of Science Dean Joaquin Ruiz is pleased to announce the 2016 Galileo Circle Fellows

2014 Galileo Circle Fellows
2016 Galileo Circle Fellows Richard Snodgrass(L) and Alfred McEwen(R) © 2015 FOTOSMITH

Two distinguished faculty members of the University of Arizona College of Science have been named 2016 Galileo Circle Fellows, one of the highest honors bestowed upon faculty in the College.

These awards, established through the generosity of Galileo Circle members, recognize outstanding accomplishments in academic scholarship.  Each Fellow receives $5,000 and lifetime membership in the Galileo Circle.

Galileo Circle Fellows are the epitome of the academic scholar, with a deep understanding over a broad range of science, a willingness to think in a truly interdisciplinary way, and an ability to inspire colleagues and students alike.

2016 Galileo C​ircle Fellows

Alfred McEwen
Professor, Department of Planetary Sciences/LPL

Professor McEwen is best known as the Principal Investigator for the High Resolution Imaging Science Experiment (HiRISE) on the Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter (MRO). In addition to leading this very successful project, he is also a world-renowned scientist, an effective mentor of students and post-doctoral fellows, and a force for interdisciplinary collaboration at UA. What may be Alfred's most lasting scientific legacy is "Recurring Slope Lineae" (RSL), which were discovered by Alfred and his students. This is the first and best evidence for liquid water near the surface on Mars. These are slender (0.5 to 5 meters) streaks that appear on steep slopes during the spring and summer, and disappear as temperatures get colder. The most common interpretation is that these are caused by the activity of briny water. Although Alfred is most identified with his work on Mars, primarily as a result of his work with HiRISE, he has also been involved with several other spacecraft missions to various locations in the Solar System. 

Richard Snodgrass
Professor, Department of Computer Science

Professor Snodgrass is renowned for his scientific contributions and has a distinguished record of creative scholarship. He pioneered an entire sub-area of database systems, called temporal databases, that integrates the fundamental notions of information and time. His work has since turned out to be of tremendous practical significance and has been incorporated into commercial database software by vendors including IBM and Oracle. On the strength of these scholarly contributions, Rick was elected as a Fellow of the Association of Computing Machinery. Rick is active in interdisciplinary research, currently working on the ANTARES project with astronomers at NOAO to build cutting-edge software systems to efficiently analyze the huge mountains of data that the LSST telescope will produce. More recently, Rick has been focusing on predictive causal models in computer science, following Galileo's lead.


Previous Galileo Circle Fellows

J. Roger P. Angel
Regents' Professor of Astronomy

Neal R. Armstrong
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Elizabeth and Keith Hege Galileo Circle Fellow

Carol A. Barnes
Regents' Professor of Psychology

Michael F. Brown
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Research Corporation Galileo Circle Fellow

Marta Civil
Professor of Mathematics

Peter G. DeCelles
Professor of Geosciences

M. Bonner Denton
Professor of Chemistry and Geosciences

Brian J. Enquist
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Xiaohui Fan
Associate Professor of Astronomy/Steward Observatory

Ildar Gabitov
Professor of Mathematics

George Gehrels
University Distinguished Professor of Geosciences

Jeff Greenberg
Professor of Psychology

Hoshin V. Gupta
Professor of Hydrology and Water Resources
Tucson Electric Power Galileo Circle Fellow

John G. Hildebrand
Regents’ Professor of Neuroscience

Malcolm K. Hughes
Regents' Professor of Dendrochronology

Christopher Impey
UA Distinguished Professor of Astronomy

Dennis L. Lichtenberger
Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Renu Malhotra
Professor of Planetary Sciences/LPL

William G. McCallum
UA Distinguished Professor of Mathematics

Alfred McEwen
Professor of Planetary Sciences/LPL

Fulvio Melia
Professor of Physics and Astronomy

Lisa M. Nagy
Associate Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Roy Parker
Regents' Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology

Jon D. Pelletier
Professor of Geosciences

Jeanne E. Pemberton
Regents' Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Elena Plante
Professor of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

Jay Quade
Professor of Geosciences

Marcia J. Rieke
Professor of Astronomy

Michael L. Rosenzweig
Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Joyce A. Schroeder
Professor of Molecular and Cellular Biology, Bio5 and Arizona Cancer Center

Richard Snodgrass
Professor of Computer Science

Brad H. Story
Professor of Speech, Language, and Hearing Sciences

Peter A. Troch
Professor of Hydrology and Water Resources

Christopher K. Walker
Professor of Astronomy
Elizabeth and Keith Hege Galileo Circle Fellow

Joseph C. Watkins
Professor of Mathematics

Xubin Zeng
Professor of Atmospheric Sciences

Lucy M. Ziurys
Professor of Astronomy, and Chemistry and Biochemistry

Emeritus Galileo Circle Fellows

Shlomo P. Neuman
Regents' Professor of Hydrology and Water Resources

E. Philip Krider
Emeritus Professor of Atmospheric Sciences/IAP

F. Ann Walker
Regents' Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics

Neville J. Woolf
Emeritus Professor of Astronomy