Academic Advising

 

College of Science Office of Student Services
For academic advising related to your major, please contact the advisor from the table below. Please note that advising locations are specific to the major/department.

Student Services Office; Gould-Simpson 1017; 520-621-8128; science@email.arizona.edu

We assist students on a walk-in basis with:

  • Help with general and medical petitions
  • Requesting a schedule change after the posted deadlines
  • Extension of Incomplete grade
  • Questions regarding academic probation, academic recovery, academic disqualification or dismissal
  • Requests for SCI 195a enrollment, U-TURN program, Making the Grade workshop
  • Peer Advising program in the College of Science
  • Questions about Leave of Absence/ Back 2 UA
  • Questions about Second Start and/or Academic Renewal
  • Help with general questions regarding deadlines, policies, procedures, or other questions/issues not handled in your major department

Walk-in Hours and Advisors for 2017-2018 (except for priority registration dates)
Monday thru Friday 9am to 12pm & 1pm to 5pm (closed at 5pm)

  • Monday: Lindsay Morrell (SLHS)
  • Tuesday: Meredith Larrabee (BIOL/EEB)
  • Wednesday: Holly Brown (PHYS/ASTR)
  • Thursday: Megan Cunnington (CHEM/BIOC)
  • Friday: Rachel Ridlen (NSCS)

Robin Rarick, Senior Director, Academic Advising
(520) 621-8128; rrarick@email.arizona.edu

Tharini Wijeweera, Senior Academic Advisor II
(520) 621-8128; raini@email.arizona.edu


 

Major Advisor Phone Office Email
Astronomy        
  To declare the ASTR major: Yancy Shirley
(faculty advisor)
621-2288 Steward Observatory N204 yshirley@as.arizona.edu
  For current ASTR majors/minors
or new transfers only: Holly Brown
626-1231 Phys. & Atmo. Sciences 356 brownhb@email.arizona.edu
Bioinformatics AND Biology AND Ecology & Evolutionary Biology        
  Meredith Larrabee 626-8456 Life Sci. South 223 larrabee@email.arizona.edu 
  Sarah Kortessis 626-2609 Life Sci. South 229 sarahkortessis@email.arizona.edu
Chemistry & Biochemistry        
(last names A-L) Megan Cunnington 626-0605 Chemistry 210 mac990@email.arizona.edu
(last names M-Z) Christine Gronowski 626-7908 Chemistry 210 christineg@email.arizona.edu
Computer Science        
(last names A-G) Arthur Jordan 621-6613 Gould-Simpson 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
(last names H-P) David Smith 621-2594 Gould-Simpson 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
(last names Q-Z) Nicole Soley 621-0483 Gould-Simpson 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
Environmental Hydrology & Water Resources Martha Whitaker 621-9715 J.W. Harshbarger  226a mplw@hwr.arizona.edu
Geoscience Shawna Matteson 621-4845 Gould-Simpson 214 smatteson@email.arizona.edu
Mathematics        
(majors only) Laurie Varecka 626-9837 Mathematics 217 mcenter@email.arizona.edu
(majors only) Michelle Ort 621-5106 Mathematics 221 mathcenter@math.arizona.edu
Molecular & Cellular Biology        
  Marisa Lester 621-1073 Life Sci. South 248 marisal1@email.arizona.edu
  Justin Schneider 621-4342 Life Sci. South 248 jmschnei@email.arizona.edu
Neuroscience & Cognitive Science        
(last names A-K) Alex Samoy-Alvarado   Gould-Simpson 626 asamoy2@email.arizona.edu
(last names L-Z) Rachel Ridlen   Gould-Simpson 628 rachel.ridlen@arizona.edu
No Major Selected or Undecided in Science Tharini Wijeweera 621-8128 Gould-Simpson 1017 raini@email.arizona.edu
Physics Holly Brown 626-1231 Physics & Atmospheric. Science 356 brownhb@email.arizona.edu
Psychology AND Psychological Science        
UA ONLINE ONLY Melanie Lipton 621-7439 Psychology 312 melanielipton@email.arizona.edu
(last names A-D) Liz Sandoval 621-7439 Psychology 312 esandmar@email.arizona.edu
(last names E-L)
& all Honors psychology majors
Keri Bishop 621-7439 Psychology 312 kerib@email.arizona.edu
(last names M-R) Christy Ball 621-7439 Psychology 312 christyw@email.arizona.edu
(last names S-Z) Shelley Bernstein 621-7439 Psychology 312 shelleyb@email.arizona.edu
Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences Andrea Palacio 626-6680 Speech Building 220A apalacio@email.arizona.edu

 

 

Mobile Menu