Academic Advising

College of Science Office of Student Services
For academic advising related to your major, please contact the advisor from the table below. Please note that advising locations are specific to the major/department.

Student Services Office; Gould-Simpson 1017; 520-621-8128; science@email.arizona.edu

We assist students on a walk-in basis with non-major advising questions including:

  • Help with general petitions
  • Requesting a schedule change after the posted deadlines
  • Extension of Incomplete grade
  • Questions regarding academic probation, academic recovery, academic disqualification or dismissal
  • Requests for SCI 195a enrollment, U-TURN program
  • Peer Advising program in the College of Science
  • Questions about Leave of Absence/ Back 2 UA
  • Questions about Second Start and/or Academic Renewal
  • Help with general questions regarding deadlines, policies, procedures, or other questions/issues not handled in your major department

Walk-in Hours and Advisors for August thru December 2016: 
Monday thru Friday 9am to 12pm & 1pm to 4:30pm

  • Monday: Lindsay Morrell (SLHS)
  • Tuesday: Meredith Larrabee (BIOL/EEB)
  • Wednesday: Holly Brown (PHSY/ASTR)
  • Thursday: Shawna Matteson (NSCS)
  • Friday: Martin Marquez (CHEM/BIOC)

Robin Rarick, Director, Academic Advising and Student Services
(520) 621-8128; rrarick@email.arizona.edu

Tharini Wijeweera, Senior Academic Advisor
(520) 621-8128; raini@email.arizona.edu


 

Major

Advisor

Phone

Office

Email

Astronomy To declare the ASTR major: Yancy Shirley
(faculty advisor)
621-2288 Steward Observatory room N204 yshirley@as.arizona.edu

 

For current ASTR majors/minors
or new transfers only: Holly Brown

626-1231

Phys. & Atmo. Sciences 356

brownhb@email.arizona.edu
Bioinformatics Meredith Larrabee 626-8456 Life Sci. South 223 larrabee@email.arizona.edu
  Sarah Kortessis 626-2609 Life Sci. South 229 sarahkortessis@email.arizona.edu

Biology AND Ecology & Evolutionary Biology

Meredith Larrabee

626-8456

Life Sci. South 233

larrabee@email.arizona.edu 

  Sarah Kortessis 626-2609 Life Sci. South 229 sarahkortessis@email.arizona.edu

Chemistry & Biochemistry

 

 

 

 

(last names A-L) Megan Cunnington 626-0605 Chemistry 210 mac990@email.arizona.edu
(last names M-Z) Martin Marquez 626-7908 Chemistry 210 martinmarquez@email.arizona.edu

Computer Science

       
(last names A-G) Chelsea Skotnicki 686-8470 Gould-Simpson 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
(last names H-P)  David Smith 621-2594 Gould-Simpson 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu
(last names Q-Z) Nicole Soley 621-5003 Gould-Simspon 917 advising@cs.arizona.edu

Environmental Hydrology & Water Resources

Martha Whitaker 621-9715 J.W. Harshbarger  226a mplw@hwr.arizona.edu

Geoscience

       
(last names A-L) Emily Alexander 621-4845 Gould-Simpson 214 emalex13@email.arizona.edu
(last names M-Z) Anne Chase 621-6004 Gould-Simpson 210 achase@email.arizona.edu

Mathematics
(majors only please)

Laurie Varecka

626-9837

MATH 217

mcenter@math.arizona.edu

Molecular & Cellular Biology

Marisa Lester 621.1073 Life Sci. South 248

marisal1@email.arizona.edu

  Justin Schneider 621-4342 Life Sci. South 248

jmschnei@email.arizona.edu

Neuroscience & Cognitive Science 

Last names A-F
Becca Van Sickler
621-6643 Gould-Simpson 624 beccav@email.arizona.edu
 

Last names G-Z
Shawna Matteson

621-0384 Gould-Simpson 628 smatteson@email.arizona.edu

No Major Selected or Undecided in Science

Tharini Wijeweera

621-8128

Gould-Simpson 1017

raini@email.arizona.edu

Physics

Holly Brown

626-1231

Physics & Atmospheric. Science 356

brownhb@email.arizona.edu

Psychology AND Psychological Science

 

 

 

 

UA ONLINE ONLY Jill Hewins 621-1316 PSYC 312 (mornings only) jhewins@email.arizona.edu

(last names A-D)

Liz Sandoval

621-7439

PSYC 312

esandmar@email.arizona.edu

(last names E-L)
& all Honors psychology majors

Keri Bishop

621-7439

PSYC 312

kerib@email.arizona.edu

(last names M-R)

Christy Ball

621-7439

PSYC 312

christyw@email.arizona.edu

(last names S-Z)

Shelley Bernstein

621-7439

PSYC 312

shelleyb@email.arizona.edu

Science Education
(
not accepting new majors)

Ingrid Novodvorsky

626-4187

Physics & Atmospheric Science 378

novod@email.arizona.edu

Speech, Language, & Hearing Sciences

Lindsay Morrell

626-6680

Speech Building room 220A

lmorrell@email.arizona.edu