Information About The 2016 Survey

The College of Science conducted a Workplace Climate Survey in the 2016 fall semester to gather information as part of the College’s interest in and dedication to advancing an inclusive and supportive environment for faculty, staff and students.

Confidential, online questionnaires were sent to all College of Science faculty, staff, postdocs and graduate students by the University of Michigan ADVANCE program, a National Science Foundation-funded program to promote diversity in institutional workplaces.

The College asked the University of Michigan ADVANCE program to administer the survey and collect and analyze the data, because of the program’s extensive experience and the confidentiality gained by partnering with an organization outside of the University of Arizona. The questionnaires have been in use for 10 years and at almost 90 units at the University of Michigan and elsewhere.

1. Survey responses are confidential.
Once a person submitted a survey, that response was separated from the person’s UA email address. The survey and associated data are stored on a server at the University of Michigan. No one at the University of Arizona has access to the data.

To help preserve anonymity, the survey responses were not broken down by department or unit and were only grouped by the four broad employment categories (faculty, staff, postdocs and graduate students).

The College of Science received the report on the survey results in February 2017.

2. What is the College of Science doing now?
In January 2017, Dean Ruiz formed a Workplace Climate Committee. Members were selected based on recommendations of department heads and other groups in the college, including the College of Science Staff Advisory Council (COSSAC) and the Associate Graduate Council for the College of Science (AGCCS).

The 21 members of the committee are drawn from all departments and from all four employee groups. The committee also has a representative from COSSAC and from AGCCS. Each department or unit within the College has at least one representative on the committee.

Initially chaired by Tricia Serio, Molecular and Cellular Biology Head, and Chris Impey, College of Science Associate Dean, the committee is now chaired by Lee Ryan, Head of the Department of Psychology, and Brad Story, Associate Head of the Department of Speech, Language and Hearing Sciences.

Dean Ruiz and the committee co-chairs held a Town Hall for all College employees in April 2017 to share the committee’s initial analysis of report and to hear from members of the College.

The Workplace Climate Committee met throughout Fall Semester 2017 continues to meet regularly.

If you have questions or concerns about the survey and the Workplace Climate Committee, please contact one of the co-chairs or committee members.

Mobile Menu